Archive for the ‘admob’ Category
Succeeding with enhanced campaigns
E-travel has improved CTR and conversion rate with context-optimized ads, mobile app downloads, and upgraded sitelinks.
E-Travel is one of the leading online travel agents in Greece, Cyprus and Russia, and has presence in other markets in Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. After upgrading to enhanced campaigns, CEO Anil Valbh reported, “We can now show our ads according to people’s context like location or time of day [... and] count app downloads as conversions in AdWords reports, which is very important for us because so many of our new customer leads come from our mobile app. These features along with the upgraded sitelinks helped us boost clickthrough rate by 43% and conversion rate by 88%.”
American Apparel has doubled its volume of phone leads with enhanced campaigns, improving return on ad spend.
American Apparel, a multi-channel fashion retailer, upgraded all its campaigns to take advantage of new features like upgraded call extensions and sitelinks. By extending call extensions across all device types, and counting calls over 10 seconds in duration as a conversion, American Apparel has seen their conversion volume from phone calls double. Return on spend has improved significantly.
A luxury online shopping brand has grown sales by 20% by tapping into secondary markets, thanks to the ease of optimizing bids in multiple locations in a single enhanced campaign.
A luxury online shopping destination had been focusing its search engine marketing efforts on optimizing bids in location-specific campaigns aimed at primary markets like New York City and Los Angeles. Since upgrading to enhanced campaigns, the company started using location bid adjustments to test and expand its AdWords presence in new geographies, including affluent areas of Delaware, South Carolina, and New Mexico. Already, the company has grown total conversion volume by 20% while achieving target return on ad spend.
Hotwire’s SEM analysts are saving 5-10 hours per week with more efficient campaign management.
Hotwire.com, a leading discount travel website upgraded all of their paid search accounts to Enhanced Campaigns, both domestic and international, within the first month. Clay Schulenburg, Director of Search Engine Marketing at Hotwire shared that upgrading to Enhanced Campaigns really helped his team manage AdWords more efficiently because all the key adjustments for location, time of day and device are now managed in a single campaign: “Time saved per SEM analyst is somewhere in the range of 5 – 10 hours per work week that can now be reallocated to either new strategic SEM initiatives or more granular account/campaign optimizations.”
Get started in 3 steps
If you’re among the 95% of advertisers whose legacy campaigns are currently run across all device types, you can upgrade in just three steps to take advantage of enhanced campaigns:
- Click the “Get started” button when you log into the AdWords interface
- Select a mobile bid adjustment
- Click “Complete upgrade”
Here’s a short video illustration.
If you have questions about upgrading to enhanced campaigns, please contact AdWords support, ask for advice from your fellow advertisers in our AdWords community, or check out our comprehensive upgrade guide (.pdf download).
Share your results and feedback
Once you’ve started using enhanced campaigns, please let us know about your results and any suggested improvements using our feedback form.
Posted by: Surojit Chatterjee, Group Product Manager
ValueTrack parameters for enhanced campaigns are live: manage your keyword level URLs by device
- We’re changing the existing parameter {ifmobile:[value]}. Previously, the ifmobile parameter would insert [value] when a user clicked your ad on either a tablet or a mobile device. Now, it will only trigger from an ad click on a mobile device.
- We’ve added a new parameter, {ifnotmobile:[value]}, where you can replace [value] with text that will then show up in your URL when the user clicks on your ad from a computer or tablet.
These features will help you achieve your conversion and ROI goals, and make the upgrade to enhanced campaigns easier by:
- Directing users to a device-specific landing page at the keyword level.
- Aligning performance reporting with device groupings used in enhanced campaigns.
For more information about our new ValueTrack features, please check out our Google AdWords Enhanced Campaign Upgrade Guide – The URL Supplement.
Posted by: Karen Yao, Senior Product Manager, AdWords
Introducing the AdMob eCPM Floor Beta
How does this work? Advertisers bid to show their ads on apps in the AdMob network, and an auction is run for every impression to determine the winner. We predict what the ‘expected CPM’ (eCPM) of that ad impression will be. The developer sets a minimum eCPM and we will only serve ads to their app that meet or exceed that level. For example, if a floor of $1.25 is set, we’ll only show ads with an eCPM of $1.25 or more. When choosing a floor value it’s important for developers to look at their own reporting and determine a value that’s relevant to them.
Here are a few details to know when taking part in the beta:
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Make sure the eCPMs that are set for other ad networks are accurate.
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We don’t guarantee the final value of the eCPM, since we don’t know if a user will click on the ad.
Developers who use the beta have the option of setting just one network line item in their mediation stack which uses the eCPM floor. Or, they can have two network line items, one that uses the eCPM floor and one without, so they can continue to fill impressions at their current fill rate. Setting the eCPM floor at a very high value will likely lead to a decrease in the fill rate.
Find setup instructions in the AdMob Help Center here under the article titled ‘Allocate traffic by eCPM’.
Posted by: Vishay Nihalani, Product Manager, Google
Upcoming Learn with Google Webinar: Understanding The Full Value of Mobile
Posted by: Julie Pottier, Product Marketing Manager, Google Mobile Ads
The Full Value of Mobile: New calculator and resources to estimate mobile’s value for your business in the new, multi-screen world
This new consumer behavior is now the norm, with a recent study showing that nearly three of ten mobile searches result in visiting a store, calling a business, or making a purchase online. Some smart marketers are already investing in understanding how mobile drives sales through these new customer paths. For example, adidas, in partnership with their agency iProspect, felt that mobile was converting in ways beyond their mobile website, so they created a simple yet powerful attribution model to understand how mobile is driving customers into stores. As a result, adidas found that each click on their store locator button was worth $3.20, which has changed the way they view their digital investment. See their full case study here.
While savvy marketers like adidas are already defining the full value of mobile, most marketers have struggled to get started. To help marketers better understand mobile attribution, we’re launching the Full Value of Mobile initiative, which includes:
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A calculator tool
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Videos that illustrate each mobile conversion path
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Case studies highlighting successful mobile strategies
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Tips for measurement
The Full Value of Mobile Calculator provides simple equations and benchmarks to help you estimate of the value that mobile drives for your business through calls, apps, in-store, mobile site and cross-device. In about 30 minutes, you can follow the step-by-step wizard to upload data from AdWords and your mobile website, and make some key assumptions to create your Full Value of Mobile estimate. Through the exercise, you’ll see the total value, value per click, and ROI that mobile is driving for your business across all mobile customer paths, not just your mobile website. You’ll also see how cost-effective your mobile CPAs are.
Mobility has forever changed the way consumers live and shop, giving rise to these new customer paths as the lines between digital and physical experiences blur. Understanding what each of these mobile pathways means for your business is a critical piece of the larger attribution challenge that every marketer needs to meet head-on. This requires thinking about the full customer journey and acknowledging the interplay between various devices, channels and media influences along the way. Only then can marketers give credit where it’s due – both between and within channels. In other words, rethinking conversion paths is not only key to unlocking the full value of mobile, but also to unlocking the full value of digital.
Posted by: Johanna Werther, Head of Mobile Ads Marketing
The Full Value of Mobile: New calculator and resources to estimate mobile’s value for your business in the new, multi-screen world
This new consumer behavior is now the norm, with a recent study showing that nearly three of ten mobile searches result in visiting a store, calling a business, or making a purchase online. Some smart marketers are already investing in understanding how mobile drives sales through these new customer paths. For example, adidas, in partnership with their agency iProspect, felt that mobile was converting in ways beyond their mobile website, so they created a simple yet powerful attribution model to understand how mobile is driving customers into stores. As a result, adidas found that each click on their store locator button was worth $3.20, which has changed the way they view their digital investment. See their full case study here.
While savvy marketers like adidas are already defining the full value of mobile, most marketers have struggled to get started. To help marketers better understand mobile attribution, we’re launching the Full Value of Mobile initiative, which includes:
-
A calculator tool
-
Videos that illustrate each mobile conversion path
-
Case studies highlighting successful mobile strategies
-
Tips for measurement
The Full Value of Mobile Calculator provides simple equations and benchmarks to help you estimate of the value that mobile drives for your business through calls, apps, in-store, mobile site and cross-device. In about 30 minutes, you can follow the step-by-step wizard to upload data from AdWords and your mobile website, and make some key assumptions to create your Full Value of Mobile estimate. Through the exercise, you’ll see the total value, value per click, and ROI that mobile is driving for your business across all mobile customer paths, not just your mobile website. You’ll also see how cost-effective your mobile CPAs are.
Mobility has forever changed the way consumers live and shop, giving rise to these new customer paths as the lines between digital and physical experiences blur. Understanding what each of these mobile pathways means for your business is a critical piece of the larger attribution challenge that every marketer needs to meet head-on. This requires thinking about the full customer journey and acknowledging the interplay between various devices, channels and media influences along the way. Only then can marketers give credit where it’s due – both between and within channels. In other words, rethinking conversion paths is not only key to unlocking the full value of mobile, but also to unlocking the full value of digital.
Posted by: Johanna Werther, Head of Mobile Ads Marketing
Expanding Universal Analytics into Public Beta
- Understanding how customers interact with your businesses across many devices and touch-points,
- Insights into the performance of your mobile apps,
- Improvements of lead generation and ROI by incorporating offline and online interactions so you can understand which channels drive the best results,
- Improved latency on your site by reducing client-side demands.
“At PriceGrabber, we know it’s important to understand consumer shopping behavior so we can provide a more customized experience to our users. Google’s Universal Analytics will solve this problem for us and many sites that are facing this challenge and help us serve our users better by providing them with more relevant content and shopping results. We can use Google Analytics’ metrics to segment our users in a way that improves and simplifies the shopping experience for consumers. That’s what we strive for at PriceGrabber, to make shopping and saving money as easy as possible.”
SES New York: Google solutions for a constantly connected world
During day 1 of SES New York, we’ll be on the expo floor with a custom-built Google classroom. Join us for a full day of learning about the latest solutions from AdWords, Mobile, Google Display Network, and DoubleClick Search to help you win in a constantly connected world.
Where: SES NY Expo Hall, 5th Floor Marriott Marquee
When: Day 1 – Tuesday, March 26th
Sessions:
- 10:30-11:30am Reaching customers whenever, wherever, across any device. Surojit Chatterjee, Lead Product Manager for enhanced campaigns
- 11:45-12:45pm Understanding the Full Value of Mobile. Brendon Kraham, Director, Global Mobile Solutions
- 2:00-3:00pm Engaging with your audience in a multi-screen world. Speaker TBD
- 3:30-4:30pm Using DoubleClick Search to manage campaigns across channels and devices. Anthony Chavez, Product Manager for DoubleClick Search
Don’t have a pass yet? Don’t worry! Expo Only passes are free and get you access to our Google classroom. You can also use the code NYGOOGLE which is redeemable for up to $700.00 off a full conference pass!
Posted by: Derrick Djang, Product Marketing Manager, AdWords
Enhanced campaigns for display: Powerful bidding tools for a multi-device world
Why Enhanced Campaigns For Display
In this constantly connected world, our customers are accessing information across multiple devices, and might look at 10 different sources – online reviews, newspaper and magazine articles, recommendations from friends and more – before making a purchase. Display advertising captures these signals and is an important part of connecting with consumers in this multi-screen world. But determining the best way to reach the right person with the right ad is more complex than ever. Enhanced campaigns for display help you reach people with the right ads, based on people’s context like their location, time of day and device type — all from a single campaign.
Key Features
Search and display use very different signals. In search, we use keywords to capture users’ intent. For instance, a travel booking website knows that a user searching for ‘Rome Vacation Packages’ is looking for a vacation in Rome. In Display campaigns, advertisers use a variety of other signals to reach their target customers with the right ad. In this example, a travel website may use:
- Interest Categories: to reach customers interested in “Rome”
- Demographics: to reach people 35-44, who have historically spent 3x the average
- Topic Targeting: to reach people browsing travel websites
- Remarketing: to reach customers who booked a vacation with them last year
In today’s constantly connected world, someone’s intent and the actions they’re looking to take may differ depending on their context, signals such as time of day, location and device:
- Time of day: Travelers typically book between 9am and 6pm
- Location: “People in the US” who may convert more often than people in Italy
- Device: Mobile users tend to browse on their smartphones, then book on their desktop
With enhanced campaigns, instead of having to create multiple campaigns, this travel website can easily manage all of this in one place. In a single campaign they can adjust bids across these various signals to reach the right people with the right ads.
Learn More
More tips on how to use enhanced campaigns for display are available in the AdWords Help Center. To learn more on how you can take advantage of Enhanced Campaigns for Display, register for our upcoming webinar this Thursday March 21st, at 10am PST.
Posted by: Christian Oestlien, Product Management Director for the Google Display Network
New ValueTrack parameters for enhanced campaigns: Managing keyword level URLs by device
We’ve been listening to your feedback, and in the next few weeks we’ll be launching new ValueTrack features for advertisers using keyword level URLs. These features will help advertisers achieve specific conversion and ROI goals, and make the upgrade to enhanced campaigns easier by:
- Directing users to a device-specific landing page at the keyword level.
- Enabling measurement of the effectiveness of campaigns by device.
What’s new
We’ve added a new parameter, {ifnotmobile:[value]}, where you can replace [value] with text that will then show up in your URL when the user clicks on your ad from a computer or tablet. We’re also changing the existing ValueTrack parameter {ifmobile:[value]}. This parameter will now insert the specified value into the URL only if the user clicks from a mobile device.
In this post, we will discuss using the ifmobile and ifnotmobile parameters to direct users to a device-specific landing page. We will also discuss performance tracking by device, and how the ifmobile and ifnotmobile parameters differ from the existing device parameter.
Example 1: Redirecting users to device-specific landing pages
Responsive web design is often a good fit for advertisers who provide device-optimized experiences to their users. If you must specify different landing pages depending on device, you have two options. If the landing page varies by creative, you can simply create mobile-optimized ads by setting the device preference to “Mobile.” If the device-specific landing page varies for each keyword, then you can use the ifmobile and ifnotmobile parameters in the keyword-level destination URL. It is important to remember that if you are using the ifmobile parameter today, it will no longer insert a value into the URL for tablet clicks. The new parameter ifnotmobile will now insert a value into the URL for tablet and desktop/laptop.
Let’s say you want to send mobile users to “m.example.com/widgets,” and desktop and tablet users to “www.example.com/widgets” for the keyword “widgets.” In this scenario you could set the destination URL for this keyword to:
{ifmobile:m.example.com/widgets}{ifnotmobile:www.example.com/widgets}
Example 2: Tracking performance by device
If you want to track performance by device, the existing device parameter will work for most cases. Using device inserts an “m”, “t”, or “c” into the destination URL, depending on whether the user clicked from a mobile device, tablet, or desktop/laptop computer. If your tracking system requires different internal ids for the same keyword on different devices, then you may need to use the ifmobile and ifnotmobile parameters.
For the keyword “widgets”, let’s say you have assigned an internal keyword id of “df32” for desktops and tablets and “df33” for mobile devices. You can set the keyword-level destination URL to:
www.example.com/widgets?kwid={ifnotmobile:df32}{ifmobile:df33}
Then, if the user clicks from a desktop or tablet, the landing page is:
www.example.com/widgets?kwid=df32
and for a mobile click:
www.example.com/widgets?kwid=df33
Success in action
Advertisers are upgrading to enhanced campaigns and seeing strong results. VivaStreet in France, the 4th largest free classified website in the world, upgraded all of their campaigns within the two weeks after launch. When they upgraded, they increased their mobile bid adjustment to 125% and saw overall conversions increase by 34%. After seeing the positive results, VivaStreet went on to increase their mobile bid adjustment to 140%. By using ValueTrack parameters, you can also direct users to device-specific content and measure the effect it has on conversions.
We appreciate the feedback we have received on enhanced campaigns and encourage you to continue helping us understand how to make a great product. Please join us on March 21st at 10:00AM PST (1:00PM EST) for the latest in our enhanced campaigns webinar series, EC 205, covering enhanced campaigns and the Google Display Network.
Posted by: Karen Yao, Senior Product Manager, AdWords
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